Picture
I can see the sadness in your eyes
When you look into the distance. 
Those brief moments when you think no one is looking, 
I can see it.
Because I know.

I can hear the screams underneath your laughter;
Sheer cries of help,
Like shattering glass-- oh so desperate.
I can hear them.
Because I know.

I can feel the loneliness in the way you walk;
Your head hung low,
Wrists curled and fingers tucked away.
I can feel it.
Because I know.

I know how it looks to be sad.
I know how it sounds to be desperate.
I know how it feels to be lonely.
Because I, too, am sad, lonely, desperate for help.

I look into the distance, hoping for love,
I cry out at night, longing for help,
I hide my hands, afraid to show my inner scars. 

I know how you live;
Because I live the same way,
And when I look at you,
I see me.

D.L.




Leave a Reply.


    Author

    Danielle Leizman 

    Archives

    November 2013

    Categories

    All
    #society #girl #eyeliner #fake #realworld #piercings #be #yourself #beyourself